Baron Corbin's Free Fall Continues at SummerSlam

Baron Corbin's week just got a lot worse.

After failing to cash-in his Money in the Bank contract earlier this week on SmackDown, Corbin lost cleanly in an uneventful match against John Cena at SummerSlam. The match looked like nothing more than a tune-up for Cena as he'll be heading for RAW tomorrow. The match's best moment came when Cena's music hit to open the PPV. The surprise of the 16-time Champion opening the show producing a big pop from the crowd, but everything after that would prove to be arbitrary. After an AA, Corbin was easily pinned.

As Corbin lay in his shame, Cena took a victory lap and interacted with multiple front row parties. It is a goodbye of sorts for Cena as everything points to him being done with SmackDown for a long time.

For Corbin, tonight's squeaky clean loss with no post match shenanigans continues the narrative that WWE has suddenly gone cold on the Lone Wolf

Corbin losing the briefcase caught many fans by surprise as we were lead to believe that he was a talent WWE was looking to build. Baron Corbin became one of the very few stars to obtain the Money In The Bank briefcase and not successfully become champion with it. Why WWE chose to pull the cord (or the plug) on Corbin's Money in the Bank status is a little perplexing. As Mr. Money in the Bank, Corbin was a shark, one that could lurk around either Championship. This added intrigue. But apparently, WWE didn't feel like they needed the raised stakes and Corbin is now just another guy on the roster.

However Corbin does have a slim hope of gtting back his MITB briefcase. A fan keenly caught a technicality from Corbin's failed cash-in that could work in the Lone Wolf's favor. As per in the video below, when Jinder Mahal pinned Corbin, his feet broke the bottom rope's threshold, arguably putting him out of bounds.

Does Corbin have a case? Possibly. It kind of looks like Mahal was attempting to stick his feet on the second rope and cheat to win a la Ric Flair. It's also possible that Mahal was instructed by WWE to include the technicality. However, it's most likely instructed none of this and it's more of a small mistake caught by a fan.

0comments

We'll know more on Tuesday!