If you or your child has a gluten or wheat allergy, you'll want to check your pantry ASAP.
General Mills has announced a voluntary recall of 1.8 million boxes of gluten-free Cheerios — both Original and Honey Nut — due to a "possible presence of wheat." The company cites an "isolated incident" at its Lodi, California production facility that allowed wheat flour to enter the gluten-free oat-based system, resulting in wrongfully labeled gluten-free cereal.
The boxes affected by the incident were produced in July and have the plant code "LD." The Cheerios have "better if used by" dates of July 14 to July 17, 2016 and the Honey Nut Cheerios have "better if used by" dates of July 12 to July 25, 2016.
>> Read more:Expiration Dates: Decoding 'Use By' vs 'Sell By' vs 'Best By'
See the exact details from General Mills below: